A Guide To Dating Without Dating Apps

The seemingly elusive art of meeting people IRL.

Kirstie Taylor
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Yogas Design on Unsplash

My current partner and I met in this crazy way. Most people our age are baffled when I let them know that I actually met my boyfriend using a pretty old school method: in person.

I’m not hating on dating apps. I’ve used every popular one there is out there: Tinder, Bumble, CMB, Hinge, etc.

While dating apps are becoming more and more accepted by people as a way to meet a romantic partner, they can be intimidating. It’s hard to guess someone’s intentions, and that’s if you can get past the game of turning endless texting into an actual, in-person meet-up.

Dating apps definitely increase the pool of potential romantic partners, but they somehow feel limiting, too. People tell me that with every swipe they lose a bit more hope, which is hard to come to terms with when most would rather not be on dating apps at all.

Luckily, meeting people in-person doesn’t have to be an elusive endeavour. I know it sounds hopeless, but it’s completely viable to still meet potential partners without dating apps.

If you want to date people you meet IRL and are having trouble, try using these tips:

Go Out Into The World

--

--

Kirstie Taylor
Mind Cafe

Want to feel confident and secure when dating? Grab my 30-day dating guide, "From Anxious to Secure." kirstietaylor.com/guide // IG: @kirstietaylorr //