Self

A Language Trick To Help You With Painful Decisions

Decoding the clouding of judgment by your native language.

Sean Kernan
Mind Cafe
Published in
5 min readJul 8, 2023

--

Pexels Images via Shvets Production

It was a relief.

I’d gone through an extensive interview process at a finance firm.

The interview process is generally exhausting. You get yanked around. People smile and say how excited they are to talk to you again, only to get passed over.

In this instance, everything had gone great. I was offered a job with a 6% salary increase. It wasn’t a massive raise but still thousands of dollars more and a welcome move forward.

My prospective boss’s name was Edward, and he seemed nice enough. But he’d asked a question that threw me off, “How do you feel about direct and consistent feedback?”

Which made me wonder if he was a micromanager and if I’d be stepping into corporate hell.

“Am I being too neurotic?”

“What if this job is awesome?

I paced up and down my hallway like a maniac, rolling over the possibilities.

Fear got the better of me and I chickened out. I gave too much weight to uncertainty and probably made the wrong decision.

--

--

Sean Kernan
Mind Cafe

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.