Being Happy Is Really Hard

But it’s not as hard as hiding behind a mask.

Chris Wojcik
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by arash payam on Unsplash

The other day, one of my readers called me a “whiny pussy”.

He’s going to love this one.

Sometimes, I do indeed come off as a little dramatic or intense. I come on too strong — all the time. It’s sort of my thing (yes, we’re working on it in therapy). I sound a little whiny sometimes because I put all of my emotion into everything I do.

I’m a little bit intense. My intensity makes me work hard and it makes me fairly successful in the things I do, but it also makes me a bit polarizing to people who I meet for the first time.

When it comes to first impressions, I suck because I try too hard to be memorable.

The problem with this approach is that happiness is not found through profound intensity. Intensity helps you succeed and it helps you get stuff done, but intensity doesn’t make you happy.

Happiness is found in something different entirely.

You can chill and also be important

I’m intense because I, like most artists, am grasping for significance in my life.

I know what it’s like to be depressed and feel like my life has no meaning, so I’ve compensated for that by pursuing…

--

--