Building Habits to Be Successful Is the Greatest Lie You’ve Been Told

There’s another way I see nobody talking about

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
4 min readApr 5, 2023

--

Photo by Jonathan Borba via Pexels

James Clear is the godfather of the habits movement.

His Atomic Habits book has made people go overboard on the topic. Everywhere you turn some guru is saying “show me your habits bro.”

The brilliance of habits is a lie. Let me show you what truly matters.

No, consistency and repetition don’t make you successful

Consistency is level one of success.

If you don’t keep going with whatever goal you have then obviously you lose. But repeating the same habit over and over and expecting to become as successful as Roger Federer isn’t gonna happen.

I’m sure you’ve met plenty of consistent people. Are they all successful? No.

I remember watching an Australian tv show about inventors. Every week they’d highlight three inventors and their creations.

You couldn’t help but notice how many of the inventors had been creating random, useless stuff for decades that nobody wanted. They’d just sit around waiting for their big break.

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb