Cheat Codes for Life I Know at 36 That I Wish I Knew at 26

Lottery thinking holds people back. Don’t hope. Do the work so you don’t have to pray to a fake god to get what you want.

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
8 min readOct 2, 2022

--

Image supplied by author (no cute puppy dogs were harmed taking this photo)

Our older selves are always wiser.

At 26 I had a closed mind, eating disorder, and thought I was smarter than Einstein. At 36 I’ve come a long way. Some of the best lessons we can share come from the advice we’d give our younger selves.

Here are my cheat codes for life at 36. Use them to upgrade your life.

1. When you get lots of rejections you stop fearing it. This makes you unstoppable.

Seek out rejection.

Measure your life based on how many recent rejections you got. Let the pain light you up, not descend you into darkness. Rejection means you’re having a crack and that’s better than what 99% of people do.

2. Busyness is a sign of poverty that will eventually lead to personal bankruptcy.

If you say I’m busy a lot it’s a red flag.

Stop being so freaking busy. Prioritize 2–3 goals and ditch the rest. Focus is what removes hocus pocus…

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb