Dear Dad, I Forgive You!

Although I hate you.

🌍 S M Mamunur Rahman
Mind Cafe

--

Dear Dad, I Forgive You!
Image by the author via midjourney

A few months ago, my mom fell seriously ill.

The treatment she was getting at the Combined Military Hospital (CMH) seemed ineffective, so we (my younger sister and I) decided to take her to a private hospital.

When we told my dad about it, he gave a veto. When we insisted, he got angry and created a scene in front of everyone.

My poor mom was reduced to tears.

As my dad is in the Air Force, my parents are entitled to free treatment for life at the CMH, which they have been receiving so far. But sometimes, you need a second opinion (or a third) when your disease doesn’t improve over time.

Sadly, my dad refused to spend any money on my mom’s treatment outside of CMH. To him, CMH is the best hospital he knows, and it’s conveniently located near his residence. So this is his comfort zone.

The truth is my dad doesn’t want to leave his comfort zone and bear extra burdens in an unknown place. I’ve seen it over the years. But what shocked us the most is that he didn’t even allow us to pay for my mom’s treatment elsewhere.

My dad gets angry when it comes to change. He is always against new experiences and skeptical of new opportunities. He just loves to live inside his comfort zone, even when it…

--

--

🌍 S M Mamunur Rahman
Mind Cafe

Boost Nominator ✦ Editor of The Environment ✦ I share stories to transform your life