Eleven Short Rules to Access the Good Life

Waking up in a pool of your own piss isn’t the good life.

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
7 min readDec 14, 2021

--

Photo by Woody Kelly on Unsplash

I pissed the bed one night (as a grown adult).

I shouldn’t admit that.

At one of the lowest points in my life, I would numb the pain of mental illness with alcohol. That evening I hit the nightclubs. I got smashed in front of potential mates who I thought might hit the sack with me.

Nothing.

I got so drunk I was slurring my words. We left one club and tried to go to a new one.

“Sorry matey, you’re too hammered,” the security guard said firmly.

So we drank tequila in the street behind the club. I eventually stumbled home in a taxi. I passed out on my bed. I was so drunk that vomit foamed out of my mouth. I slept in it.

When I woke up, I was lying in a pool of bright yellow urine.

As a grown adult I’d got so drunk and pissed myself without realizing it.

I’ve never been so embarrassed. I washed the sheets and got the doona dry-cleaned. The stain, unfortunately, got on the mattress. The reminder of one of the lowest moments in my life … was too great. I went and spent $995 on a new mattress to cover up my night of devastation.

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb