Fasting: How Not Eating Food Saves Me 5 Hours Each Week

Can intentional starvation be considered a productivity hack?

Corey Fradin
Mind Cafe

--

*I’m not a doctor. Nothing I mention here is medical advice.*

Have you ever calculated how much time you spend on food each week? I have. On a regular day, I spend about 20 minutes on breakfast, 40 minutes on lunch, and 60 minutes on dinner. That includes preparation, eating, and cleaning. That’s two hours every single day. Monday through Sunday. For all of my existence.

That is, all of my existence up till last week. Because last week I started a new goal. One that has saved me a considerable amount of time. Fasting. More specifically, complete at least three 24 hour fasts each week. And I know I mentioned this at the top of the article, but I’ll reiterate it once more, I’m not a doctor and nothing here should be construed as medical advice.

That said, I recently started this goal to counter the effects of a different goal. To keep it brief, I set a health-related goal for myself last year. And though I had good intentions and the goal itself was well-researched, it didn’t garner the results I was hoping for. In fact, I ended up gaining 20 lbs with it overall.

The Source Material for Fasting

--

--