Five Habits of Truly Pessimistic People

Psychologists say a glass-half-empty attitude takes a toll on both your mental and physical health.

Ana Writes
Mind Cafe

--

Woman sitting in front of body of water with her hands on her temples looking stressed
Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels

My best friend in college was a textbook pessimist. She had a constant negative attitude towards everything and was perpetually unable to see the bright side.

These habits slowly started rubbing off on me and I didn’t realize until I spent a semester abroad away from her. Having a break from constantly needing to be pessimistic showed me how my attitude was truly affecting everything from my school work to my friendships.

After coming back from my semester abroad, I stopped talking to this person and noticed that I became more approachable to other people. After talking to them, they told me that the reason they never talked to me before was that they thought I was so negative, always looking at the glass as half empty and never giving anything a chance.

Pessimism can not only affect your relationships but also take a toll on your physical health as well. Avoid becoming a textbook pessimistic by recognizing the signs and red flags. With time, you can change your attitude towards a more healthy outlook.

1. Pessimists Only Focus on Flaws and Weaknesses

--

--