Gamma Brainwaves Are Rarely Experienced — but When They Are They’re Life-Changing

Two scientifically proven ways to experience them today

Andy Murphy
Mind Cafe

--

Image by Peace,love,happiness from Pixabay

The first time I experienced gamma brainwaves without taking psychoactive substances was in my first breathwork session.

I was perched on the edge of a volcanic crater edge around the beautiful Lake Atitlan in Guatemala and in a home I knew well. So, when I laid down, closed my eyes, and heard the music start to play, I felt safe to let go and explore.

This piece of music was set to specifically designed brainwave music that’s designed to drop people into a deep meditative state. I didn’t know that at the time, though. All I heard was this deep base-y frequency that beat to the rhythm of my heart and sent me into a nervous anticipation.

After a few deep, rhythmical breaths I could feel my brain rewiring itself as I surrendered deeper into the experience. A few more deeper breaths and I could feel my whole body and entire being dissolve, leaving me in a state of total bliss and oneness.

It was a bizarre feeling, one that felt like I was simultaneously moving backward in time and forward in space as if I was travelling to and from some ancient future.

--

--