Good, Fast Or Cheap: Which Two Do You Value Most?

Ask yourself this question before you spend time or money.

Bryan Collins
Mind Cafe

--

Pick two (Image created on Canva)

Before your next purchase, investment or business project, ask yourself which two of these three traits is most important: good, fast or cheap?

A purchase or investment can only possess two of three of these traits, at best. Although it’d be great to have all three, that’s a utopia. I learnt about this model for making more effective decisions and planning projects the hard way.

1. Cheap and Fast

Several years ago, I wrote my first book. It was all about productivity for writers and I decided to self-publish it.

Every self-published book needs an editor and a good book cover. After editing, I’d no money left to spend. Well, almost none.

So, I used Fiverr to hire a designer for five dollars. I got what I wanted after a few hours. But, the result contained typos, ugly fonts and the wrong colours.

This discount book cover was a classic example of something that was fast and cheap, but certainly not good.

I knew I couldn’t use it to sell copies of my book, but I could hardly expect much from a designer who was working for just five dollars. He was relying on a simple template.

--

--

Bryan Collins
Mind Cafe

I offer 𝘄𝗿𝗶𝘁𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗮𝗱𝘃𝗶𝗰𝗲 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗯𝘂𝗶𝗹𝗱𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝘆𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝗯𝘂𝘀𝗶𝗻𝗲𝘀𝘀 👋 Content Strategist | Copywriter | USA Today Best-Selling Author