Half of Luxury Can’t Be Bought

The first step to creating a cozy living environment is reducing chaos.

Katie Martin
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Bino Le on Unsplash

The coffee table in my home was built in 1990. It’s a solid oak rectangular storage box. My grandparents bought it for my parents from Amish furniture makers in Indiana, and it has traveled from their home, to Chicago, and now all the way to Boulder, Colorado.

Like many people in their 20s, my home is filled with furniture from the previous generation. “Borrowed” and passed down from parents, aunts, and other relatives, or bought secondhand.

Since I’m neither settled nor have a large budget, buying new and modern furniture never seemed like a good financial choice. And for awhile, I believed my budgeting restraint was at odds with my desire to create a zen living environment.

But it turns out that my lack of contemporary furniture wasn’t the only roadblock I had in enhancing my living space.

On Not Having That Minimalist “Look”

When I first discovered minimalism, it was from Instagramers and YouTubers who had white walls, clean lines, and light-grain woods. They had succulents in terra cotta pots and sleek glass coffee tables.

--

--