How I Was Being Quiet Fired

Something didn’t seem right

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Mind Cafe
Published in
4 min readOct 9, 2022

--

Photo by Crew on Unsplash

I tried to make a lateral move in my day job a while back.

I didn’t get the job, which was odd because I was qualified to do it. I had the experience. I was doing the same work but at a higher level too.

But they told me my productivity (a guy who wrote a productivity book) wasn’t good enough. I was baffled. I was caught off guard.

Shortly after not getting the job, I got a new boss. While going through an initial couple of meetings, I learned something disturbing.

My old boss kept notes and assumed I was slacking off or incompetent. I learned about a laundry list of things I wasn’t doing right but didn’t even know.

In our weekly check-ins, he never mentioned that I was falling short of my job objectives or not on track with onboarding.

My new boss is now a director.

We’ve all heard about quiet quitting.

But to make sure we are on the same page, here is what Investopedia says about quiet quitting:

Quiet quitting refers to doing the minimum requirements of one’s job and putting in no more time, effort, or enthusiasm than absolutely necessary. As such, it is something of a misnomer, since the worker…

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
Mind Cafe

#1 Bestselling Author of 15 books on Amazon | Helping people go from writers to authors: jrheimbigner.substack.com