How Listening to Podcasts Can Help You Cope With Loneliness

Podcasts have helped me through one of the loneliest periods of my life, this is why (and how) they could help you too.

Antony Pinol
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Ilias Chebbi on Unsplash

For me, podcasts trump all other art forms* when it comes to their ability to provide me with a feeling of connection to the person who creates them (*if the behemoth of podcasting Joe Rogan calls podcast-ing an art, I’m inclined to agree). I enjoy reading the works of online bloggers and novelists, and I enjoy watching the creations of visual artists, film-makers and even YouTube ‘Vloggers’, but I never feel as connected to the individual who created these other art forms as I do with the creator of a podcast — there is something raw, intimate and authentic about the podcaster’s voice that these other creators can’t seem to quite match.

This sense of connection that podcasts provide me with has helped me immensely with feelings of loneliness. Due to the nature of my job currently, as the full-time Caregiver of my sister, I have found it hard to stay in contact with close friends and I haven’t had the time or energy to attend social events I used to enjoy. With the addition of the COVID-19 related social restrictions that have been in place recently, I’ve found myself suffering from feelings of loneliness and social…

--

--

Antony Pinol
Mind Cafe

Thirty-two years old. Living in Carlisle in England. Graduate in Philosophy. Caregiver. Christian. Writer. Contact: antonypinol1991@gmail.com