How My Life Changed After My Autism Diagnosis

I Realized I’m Not The Problem

Madison Sasser
Mind Cafe

--

Photo of Me

I want to say vocational rehab has found me a job that accommodates my Autism with a liveable salary and benefits.

I want to say my friends and family understand my fluctuating needs.

I want to say I've found a community that shares my interests and provides me with the companionship I've always wanted.

I want to say I met a man who accepts me for the chaotic person I am and not the neurotypical person he thought I could be.

That's why I spent a year attending therapy and providing detailed examples of everything I thought was wrong with me.

I needed to know how to fix myself so that people would like me.

I Was Diagnosed with Autism One Year Ago

It's been a year since the internal reality I knew was validated by diagnostic testing with a label no one believes because I don't seem Autistic to them.

So what's changed?

Is my life different?

Is an Autism diagnosis the answer I thought it would be?

It's complicated.

It depends.

--

--

Madison Sasser
Mind Cafe

I am a Gen Z determined to be everything wrong with the workforce. I blog about neurodiversity, employment trends, and my novel-writing journey.