How Quitting Social Media Can Help to Significantly Improve Your Life

A digital detox is a great way to focus on what really matters.

Matt Lillywhite
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by abillionveg on Unsplash

We spend way more time on our phones than necessary. The average person uses social media for approximately 144 minutes each day. To put that into context, that’s 4,320 minutes per month, and 51,840 minutes per year.

Think about it. When you’re lying on your death bed, are you really going to look back on your life and care about how many likes and followers you got on Instagram? Probably not.

There is an epidemic of social media addiction sweeping the country. The only problem? Very few people want to do anything about it. As a society, we’re more connected than ever. But for one reason or another, we’ve become disconnected from each other in the physical world.

For a while, I didn’t see a problem with spending a lot of time on my phone. But when I took a break from social media for thirty days, I quickly realized how much time I was wasting on things that don’t really matter.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m not saying that you need to delete your social media accounts permanently. However, it’s certainly a good idea to step back and evaluate how you spend your time.

--

--

Matt Lillywhite
Mind Cafe

Full-time storyteller. Want to earn a living from writing? I'll teach you how to get started — https://mattlillywhite.substack.com