How To Build A Life You Really Love

Spoiler alert: it won’t be easy but it will be worth it.

Shannon Ashley
Mind Cafe

--

Somewhere along the line, I think a lot of us have forgotten that the good life and an easy life are not the same thing.

Lately, I’ve been working on building a life I truly love and do you know what? It’s pretty exhausting.

As much as we all want great results, human beings don’t like resistance. So, there’s that part of us that expects the good stuff to come easy. When we brush up against how hard it actually is, we’re inclined to give up.

Nothing worthwhile is ever really easy.

At a bare minimum, we usually have to fight our preconceived notions. Those knee jerk thoughts which tell us that following our dreams is supposed to be fun or easy peasy.

I’m 37 years old, and it’s only recently become apparent that the easiest thing in the world for me to do is create a life that I loathe.

It’s a little shocking, really. I have all of these bad habits which if I don’t fight, will win. And whenever those bad habits win, I wind up doing the bare minimum in most areas of my life. And the bare minimum leads to incredibly unfulfilling results.

When we picture the life we want, it's…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Mind Cafe

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com