How to Embrace the Resting Smile Face

Ever heard of it before?

Alison Schaffir
Mind Cafe
Published in
4 min readJan 19, 2020

--

Photo by Sam Manns on Unsplash

You may be familiar with the slang term for a particular type of “resting face,” one that rhymes with witch

RBF (n.): A facial expression which naturally, though unintentionally, looks unfriendly in the resting position

I know people who believe they possess this disposition. It can be quite comedic, in fact. At first glance, some might consider them too intimidating to approach. In reality, these are some of the most lovely people I know. You just have to break through their seemingly hardened exteriors first.

I can empathize with their pain, though not in the way you might think. Rather than RBF, as many call it, I find that my default facial expression falls toward the opposite side of the spectrum…one I like to refer to as Resting Smile Face.

A naturally smiling face? What a blessing, you might think.

And it is…at times.

I’ll admit — people seem to feel comfortable in my presence. They’re usually quick to open up and share details about their lives. They automatically associate me with words like sunny, bubbly, peppy. How could there ever be a downside to that?

--

--

Alison Schaffir
Mind Cafe

Young Adult Author of YOUR DREAM FOR ME (March 2023) | Rep’d by Birch Literary | NYC-Based Social Media Strategist | Twitter: @ASchaffir