How to Find Out What Really Motivates You

Ask yourself these 3 big questions.

Alexander Boswell
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Jeremy Perkins on Unsplash

Many of us spend our time wandering through life without much direction, not really knowing why we do the things we do — we just do them because everyone else is. After we’re born, we go to school, get a job, get married, buy a house, have kids, get old and die. At least, that’s what the mainstream ‘ideal’ life is like.

The problem with this idea for many people, myself included, is that it’s not specific enough. Without knowing how this cycle (or other life patterns) apply to your life, it can lead to losing your sense of purpose, which is an important aspect of overall health and wellbeing.

So what do we do when we’ve realised the job we’re doing, the subject we’re studying, or our personal lives aren’t fulfilling our self-actualisation needs? Meeting needs beyond those for survival? At this point, in the past, I turned to the advice I saw online, which was to “find your passion!”

However, “finding your passion” was always extremely difficult because I like to do lots of things. Judging from those around me, I’m not alone. It’s quite rare to find someone who is entirely focused on a singular path/vocation in life. If you’re one of those people I envy you, however, if you’re more like me, then what do you do?

--

--

Alexander Boswell
Mind Cafe

Founder of SaaSOCIATE, a content marketing agency or MarTech, AdTech, and eCommerce SaaS businesses | Business PhD Candidate | He/Him | saasociate.com