How to Learn to Meditate Effectively: An Insider’s Guide

Tips, tricks and best practices for mindfulness.

Bryan Collins
Mind Cafe

--

I first got into the meditation game when I was in my mid-twenties.

I listened to an interview with an Irish psychologist on the radio. She explained how this practice can help people become more productive and focused (years before Tim Ferriss promoted meditation). I wanted in.

I told myself learning to meditate would help me get more stuff done, but I secretly wanted to find a way of managing my moods better. So I browsed a few books, scrubbed through YouTube videos and put the practice to one side.

Meditation only became part of my daily routine in my early thirties.

Productivity, creativity, tools, systems, and so on are useful. But these activities represent the outer stroke; they help you progress in the world. Meditation, on the other hand, represents the inner stroke. It’s for finding balance within.

But how exactly can you get started meditating? And what tools should you utilise to facilitate your practice?

Below are a few ways you can get started. It’s not a definitive list, but it represents my journey into the practice so far.

1. Headspace

--

--

Bryan Collins
Mind Cafe

I offer 𝘄𝗿𝗶𝘁𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗮𝗱𝘃𝗶𝗰𝗲 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗯𝘂𝗶𝗹𝗱𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝘆𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝗯𝘂𝘀𝗶𝗻𝗲𝘀𝘀 👋 Content Strategist | Copywriter | USA Today Best-Selling Author