How to Live Your Big Life

When everything else doesn’t work

Eve Arnold
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Katelyn Greer on Unsplash

For most of my twenties, I was desperate for answers.

I spent the vast majority of my weekends asking myself questions that I couldn’t possibly know the answer to. I was relentless. Demanding to know who I was, what I wanted, and where I was going.

I was trying to wrestle life into the perfect picture. To feel in control, to take ownership so I could steer my ship to the perfect destination. The excitement, the things, the milestones.

But over time, as life adjusted, as my restlessness settled, as my expectations quietened, I realized this life, the one I have created is rather magical.

If only I stopped to look at it.

The need to be ‘somebody’

For most of my twenties, I was obsessed with being somebody.

I wanted to be successful, someone of value, someone that I would be proud of and that mostly meant making a lot of money. I think it’s easy to associate success with money because it’s so easy to measure.

I looked around at my life and I was right at the beginning of my career, desperate to stretch out of that and be someone making the decisions, doing stuff, feeling like I was making a difference.

--

--