How To Tell If You Have An Anxious Attachment Style

Find yourself getting hooked easily? Here are some tips to help you.

Kirstie Taylor
Mind Cafe

--

If the words “anxiety” and “relationship” seem to go hand in hand in your life, then you may have something known as an “anxious attachment style.”

Attachment theory evaluates human relationships. The science of attachment theory has been studied since the 1960s, and researchers have found that the way we form relationships with people in our childhood (i.e., our parents) often determines how we experience relationships in our adult life.

There are three main attachment types: secure, avoidant, and anxious. Chances are, at some point in your life, you’ve known at least one person with each style.

And though I’ve written about avoidant and secure attachment styles, anxious is the one I’m most familiar with because I have an anxious attachment style, myself.

I spent over a decade bouncing from relationship to relationship. I thought I knew how loved worked, but I was oh-so-wrong.

When I decided to take a year off dating and take a hard look at my beliefs about love, I realized a few things — the most significant being that I was an anxious mess in my relationships.

--

--

Kirstie Taylor
Mind Cafe

Want to feel confident and secure when dating? Grab my 30-day dating guide, "From Anxious to Secure." kirstietaylor.com/guide // IG: @kirstietaylorr //