How to Read 10 Books Every Month And Have Fun

Simple and helpful ways to read more while not hating your life.

Jake Daghe
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

We’ve all heard that reading is one of the best activities you can do to improve your intellect, wisdom, maturity, leadership, and many other characteristics. But if we’re honest, reading, especially voracious reading, is a hard habit to form because we’ve grown so accustomed to a wide variety of distractions and interruptions in our daily lives.

Reading at any level is helpful, so if you are just looking at jumping into reading a few books a year, keep pressing on. Finishing 6 books throughout the course of a year is an accomplishment! Those books represent a decent block of time you spend investing in yourself.

However, if you are already on the reading train and have been working to increase your reading breadth or depth, this article has some tips and tricks for how you can do that. If you’ve hit the ceiling of reading 24 or so books each year, this will help you break through that and exceed your wildest imaginations.

This is what happened to me. In 2017, I read 24 books. In 2018, I got through 44. Then in 2019, I started applying some of these tips and cranked out 109 books. This year, I’ve already gotten through 50 books while I’m currently reading 4 more.

--

--

Jake Daghe
Mind Cafe

Creative Engineer writing working hypotheses | I write what I wish I could have read when I was younger | Join my newsletter ‘I/Q Crew’ on Substack.