How to Take Charge of Your Life: The 6 Punishments From My Dad That Transformed Me

His guiding hand shaped the person I am today, and I’ll forever be grateful

Abhimanyu Bhargava
Mind Cafe

--

There is a quote I read somewhere that hit home for me. Not only because it is true but because I have experienced it, time and again, at different phases of my life.

Average fathers have patience. Good fathers have more patience. Great fathers have an ocean of patience.

My dad is a stern military veteran. Discipline, integrity, and ethics are the principles he lives by. And with that strong sense of duty and commitment towards his family, he made me do things in childhood that no parent or kid could imagine.

Though those actions felt like punishment at the time, they have shaped me into the person I am today.

He Made Me Extremely Uncomfortable

When I was 12, Dad made me go to a bank alone to open a kid’s account, knowing well a minor cannot operate without an adult.

Being there with so many people and not knowing what to do was extremely uncomfortable.

--

--

Abhimanyu Bhargava
Mind Cafe

I write about health, fitness, self-improvement, life lessons, nutrition, careers, Crypto and NFTs. Here to empower you! https://linktr.ee/abhimanyubhargava