How To Turn Your Inability To Sleep on Time Into a Superpower

Science-backed reasons why you don’t have to feel guilty each time you’re unable to sleep on time at night.

Anangsha Alammyan
Mind Cafe
Published in
7 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

“You’re up early,” my mother remarked as she walked into me rummaging through the contents of the refrigerator for something to eat. It was 5 in the morning. I hadn’t woken up early. I hadn’t yet retired for the night.

This happened in May 2020 — right in the middle of the pandemic-induced lockdown in India. Because I had no obligation to wake up early, I found I just couldn’t go to sleep on time. Even before the work-from-home phase started, I had trouble going to bed early, but because my classes started at 9 AM, I had to sleep by 1. Now though, things were different.

After the lockdown ended, I’ve still been working from home. For almost eight months, I tried my best to maintain a “healthy” sleep cycle. But each time, some crazy idea struck me at midnight, and I couldn’t go to sleep until I’d seen it to completion.

I even tried extreme measures like staying up all night so I’d be tired and sleep by 8 or 9 PM the next day. Even then, though I did manage to fall asleep by 9 PM, as soon as my sleep debt was complete, I was back to my habit of sleeping by 5 AM.

--

--