I Fetishized Freedom — And Now I’m Miserable

A warning to those who seek the same

Scott Stockdale
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Kamaji Ogino on Pexels

Something struck me today.

For the past six months, something has nagged away at me. I thought it was burnout, worries about buying my first home, or something else I couldn’t put my finger on.

But now I see it for what it is.

I’m bored with my life and where it’s heading.

This sucks to write. Even just reading that sentence makes me sad.

Since 2019, I’ve wanted to ditch the 9–5 and forge my own path. My goal was to make a living online, sell digital products, and work from anywhere, anytime.

And I did it.

But now that I’ve reached the summit, I’m kinda like meh.

It hasn’t satisfied me like I thought it would.

Don’t get me wrong; the climb was thrilling! I was breaking new ground, working with clients, and making more money than I knew what to do with.

Nothing’s really changed on that front.

Except everything’s changed.

My girlfriend and I broke up about four months ago. We were together for three years. This is the first time I’ve shared this publicly because it’s painful to think about.

--

--

Scott Stockdale
Mind Cafe

Writer & SEO Instructor | 1M+ views on Medium | Host of Entrepreneurs Can Party 🎉 scottstockdale.co.uk