I Read 100+ Self-Help Books. These Ones Are Mediocre

Avoid them at all costs

James White
Mind Cafe

--

IStockPhoto

I’m tired of reading cliché self-help books.

Chances are, you feel the same way. Many self-help books are overhyped and not worth the paper on which they’re printed. And, unfortunately, they’re also a waste of time and money.

Here are five examples of mediocre self-help books to avoid at all costs:

The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A F*ck by Mark Manson

When I’m 95 years old and lying on my deathbed, my grandchildren will ask about my biggest regrets in life. Then I’ll look them in the eyes and apologize for wasting several hours of my life reading Mark Manson’s book.

The Subtle Art Of Giving A F*ck is best described as 212 pages of non-stop profanity. In (almost) every sentence, Mark inserts unnecessary swear words that distract readers from what he’s trying to say.

It’s pointless.

Goodreads

Here are some quotes from the book:

  • “Maturity is what happens when one learns to only give a f*ck about what’s truly f*ckworthy.”

--

--