If Your Thoughts and Feelings Don’t Determine Who You Are, What Does?

Charles Black M.D.
Mind Cafe
Published in
8 min readJan 22, 2024

--

You don’t have to be defined by the thoughts and feelings that pass through your mind. You can be is much more. Here is how.

Photo by Charles Black and courtesy of Chuck Black Photography

I recently authored an article in which I wrote;

My thoughts come and go; I remain. I am not my thoughts.

My emotions come and go; I remain. I am not my emotions.

But that leaves one big question: If I’m not my thoughts or feelings, what am I?

My Insight

My insight on this question came from an unpleasant event. I had come home from a long, hard day at work and just wanted to sit quietly. My wife had spent her exhausting and difficult day with our young family and needed to vent her frustrations.

The moment I came in the door, I felt like I was under attack. My wife cornered me in the entryway and harangued me about the frustrations of her day and how burned out she felt after a whole day with three people who could not give her enough space to use the bathroom in private.

While she vented her exasperation, my feelings boiled to the surface. I felt guilty for leaving my wife alone to contend with our children. My face flushed with the shame of being away all day. Frustration that I…

--

--

Charles Black M.D.
Mind Cafe

Dr. Charles Black is a general surgeon, author, photographer, outdoorsman, world traveler and fireside philosopher. Website:https://chuckbphilosophy.com