It’s Hard To Let Go of People, Even if They’re Bullies

You have the ability to create friendships but also to break toxic ones

Sajjad Choudhury
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

When I was 13, my family decided to pack their bags and move to Wales. At the time, we lived in a little cottage in London, a rarity these days, I know, but it was getting too small for us. What we found instead was a large five-bedroom house that sat at the top of a winding hilly road and had a lush forest at the back and a gorgeous view of the river Severn in front.

It was like a dream had come true! Each of us could finally have our own bedrooms. There was also a large conservatory, and the garden came with a pond and summer house, meaning there was plenty of space and privacy.

What more could a young teenager want?

It did come with a downside, though. My old friends and connections would be gone, and in a time without social media or smartphones, it meant I had to start my life anew.

The only problem was, how would a young teenager fit into a school where everyone already knew each other? Would I be able to make new friends, and would I even get along with them?

I was about to be tested in every possible way.

An Unexpected Sense of Popularity

--

--

Sajjad Choudhury
Mind Cafe

Product Operations Lead @ Onfido | I create relationship wellbeing content, digital products and run an IG page. Check it out - https://linktr.ee/saish_coaching