It’s Not Your Job To Get People To Open Up To You

Prying is toxic and kind of annoying.

Kirstie Taylor
Mind Cafe

--

I’ve always felt like I have a keen sense for picking up on people’s emotions. I could give you a long list of boyfriends and friends that would say I annoyed them beyond reason by continually trying to pry how they felt out of them.

And whether or not I had this superpower of picking up on someone’s secret resentment isn’t the issue here. The issue was this: I assumed responsibility for getting people to tell me how they felt.

The other day I was an hour late to dinner with my boyfriend. This is a huge deal; I despise being late. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves with people.

This occurrence took place because I was at work and unsure of what time I’d get off. It looked something like:

*Checks phone*

“S***.. 7:01. I need to leave soon.”

*Rechecks phone*

“7:15!”

*Anxiety ensues*

*Checks phone once more*

“7:28… lovely.”

*texts bf that I won’t make it to our reservation*

My boyfriend pushed our 7:45 reservation back to 8:30. Since he hadn’t eaten all day and I had over an hour to wait for me, he…

--

--

Kirstie Taylor
Mind Cafe

Want to feel confident and secure when dating? Grab my 30-day dating guide, "From Anxious to Secure." kirstietaylor.com/guide // IG: @kirstietaylorr //