Less is Now: A New Documentary Explains The Real Meaning Of Minimalism

Minimalism doesn’t have just one definition — you can make your own rules.

Martina D.
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I have been a raving fan of The Minimalists ever since their book Everything That Remains gave me the final nudge to quit my corporate job in 2017.

While waiting for the release of their new documentary Less Is Now, I returned to the coffee-stained pages of that book. The faded highlights in sections I’d marked surprisingly brought back vivid feelings. This book once helped me realize a change was possible.

And it also reminded me of what minimalism is not.

Minimalism isn’t about echoing rooms, empty cupboards, or worrying if owning ten t-shirts is still minimalist. Forget about rules. You can tailor minimalism to fit you like a fine suit. The only principle here is to constantly question value, joy, and the things that matter to you the most.

Less Is Now

The shift to modern consumerism has spoiled us for choice. We have easy access to more affordable things, and an endless stream of new, better options. What’s not to love?

Well, the influence can be so strong that we regularly let trends and advertising affect how we feel. As Dave Ramsey…

--

--

Martina D.
Mind Cafe

I write & publish books for print + audio. Get ready-made research into profitable Amz niches with full evidence breakdown-> https://buildmomentum.substack.com