New Zealand Today is Like 1950s America, But You May Not Like Why

New Zealand has something I fear America has lost and that some people don’t want us to get back.

Charles Black M.D.
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Charles Black and courtesy of Chuck Black Photography.

Living in New Zealand today is like living in 1950s America.

People are friendly and trusting. Neighbors help each other out without being asked. And I don’t feel the need to compete over everything from house to car, to kids’ performance in school and sports that seems to pervade America.

It all boils down to one word, trust.

But why Kiwis are more trusting than Americans is the real issue.

My Recent Expereince

People here are surprisingly trusting. Since moving to New Zealand, I have been walking to and from work. My daily ambulation started as a necessity because we only had one car. But the weather is generally mild, and my daily three-mile trek has become an enjoyable part of my day. So, I never got around to buying a second car.

A few days ago, I had an unexpected encounter on my walk home. A young woman approached me and asked if I was in a hurry.

I rarely get stopped in the US.

--

--

Charles Black M.D.
Mind Cafe

Dr. Charles Black is a general surgeon, author, photographer, outdoorsman, world traveler and fireside philosopher. Website:https://chuckbphilosophy.com