Replace Your To-Do List With These Three Lists

And lean into positive, peaceful productivity

Karen Banes
Mind Cafe

--

Happy woman making the peace sign.
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

I’ve been more productive this month, and enjoyed my life more. It’s because I’ve made a few changes that have actually resulted in life working better for me. One of them was throwing out my traditional to-do list, and replacing it with these three, alternative, much-more-fun lists.

A Not-To-Do List

For a long time I’ve been on a quest to do less, but better. It’s not easy. In fact, it’s not possible unless you’re actually prepared to stop doing some of the stuff you’re currently doing.

My solution? A not-to-do list, because it’s actually easier, and more satisfying, to make and adhere to a list of things you’re not going to do, than it is to simply cross those same things off your traditional to-do list.

In fact, if you’re like me, you’ll find that a lot of the stuff you want to stop doing isn’t really on your to-do list, so a not-to-do list is more necessary than you might think. A lot of what we do each day is habitual, not scheduled. That is, it’s not on our to-do list but we do it anyway. Once something is on your not-to-do list you have full permission (from yourself) to stop doing it, permanently.

--

--

Karen Banes
Mind Cafe

Freelance writer sharing thoughts on life, society, creativity, and productivity. https://changetheworldwithwords.substack.com