Robot Shrink: How To Use AI To Heal Yourself

Life-enhancing tips at the edge of advancement

Christopher Kokoski
Mind Cafe

--

Abstract image of a woman at a computer and a series of giant glowing orbs — Robot Shrink: How To Use AI To Heal Yourself
Image by the Author using DALL-E and Canva

The world can be a difficult and challenging place, and it’s easy to get bogged down by negative thoughts, feelings, and experiences.

It’s also easy to forget that you have an immensely powerful and mostly untapped ally at your disposal to help you heal and grow.

I’m talking about AI (ChatGPT and other “like-minded” AI chatbots).

As a large language model trained by OpenAI, ChatGPT has the ability to provide personalized responses and guidance that can help you navigate your emotions, build resilience, and cultivate a sense of well-being.

Using AI in therapeutic interventions is nothing new but some of the applications might be new and helpful to you.

In this blog post, I’ll be sharing some tips and strategies on how to use ChatGPT to heal yourself. I’ve tested them and all I can say is that I was pleasantly surprised at how much they helped.

Identify and Manage Your Emotions

The first step in using ChatGPT to heal yourself is to identify your emotions.

Are you feeling anxious, sad, angry, or overwhelmed? Once you have a clear understanding of your emotions, you can ask ChatGPT for guidance on how to manage them.

You can even share your thoughts with AI and get help pinpointing your exact emotions — then what to do with them.

Example prompt #1: I’m feeling really anxious right now. Can you help me find some ways to calm down?

Example prompt #2: This is what is happening and these are some of my thoughts. What specific emotions might I be feeling right now?

Seek Support and Validation

When life gets tough, it can be difficult to reach out to friends or family for support.

In these situations, ChatGPT can provide a non-judgmental and safe space for you to express your feelings and receive validation.

Here are some ways ChatGPT might help:

  • Active listening. ChatGPT can actively listen to what you’re saying and respond in a supportive and caring way. Sometimes, just having someone listen to you can make a big difference in how you feel.
  • Validation. ChatGPT can validate your feelings and let you know that what you’re going through is normal and understandable. This can help you feel less alone and more understood.
  • Coping strategies. ChatGPT can suggest coping strategies that might help you manage your emotions and feel better. These might include mindfulness techniques, self-care activities, or other forms of stress relief.

Example prompt: I’m going through a difficult breakup and I feel really alone. Can you help me feel better?

ChatGPT: I’m sorry to learn that you’re facing a difficult situation. Breakups can be really challenging. Remember that it’s okay to feel sad and to take time to heal.

It might be helpful to focus on self-care activities, like taking a bath or going for a walk.

You might also want to try journaling or talking to a therapist to help process your emotions.

Practice Self-Reflection

Self-reflection is a powerful tool for personal growth and healing.

ChatGPT can help you practice self-reflection by asking you thought-provoking questions and guiding you through the process.

Here are some ways ChatGPT might help:

  • Guided questioning. ChatGPT can guide you through a series of questions to help you explore your thoughts and feelings. These questions might help you gain clarity, identify patterns, or challenge your assumptions.
  • Objectivity. ChatGPT can provide an objective perspective that might be difficult to get from friends or family members. This can help you see things in a new light and gain a deeper understanding of yourself and your situation.
  • Tools for growth. ChatGPT can suggest tools and resources to help you grow and learn from your experiences. These might include articles, videos, or books on personal development and self-improvement.

Example prompt: I’m feeling really stuck in my career. Can you help me figure out what to do next?

ChatGPT: Of course. Let’s start by exploring your values and what’s important to you. What are your strengths and weaknesses? What do you enjoy doing?

What are your long-term goals?

By answering these questions, we might be able to identify some potential career paths that align with your values and strengths.

Use Positive Affirmations

Positive affirmations can be a powerful tool for building self-esteem and confidence. ChatGPT can provide personalized affirmations to help you cultivate a more positive mindset.

Example prompt: I’m feeling really down on myself today. Can you give me some affirmations to help me feel better?

ChatGPT:

  1. “I trust that everything will work out for my highest good.” This affirmation can help you let go of worry and anxiety about the future and trust that things will work out the way they’re supposed to. It can also help you cultivate a sense of faith and optimism.
  2. “I am worthy of love, respect, and success.” This affirmation can help you recognize your inherent worth and value as a person, regardless of external factors like your finances or the growth of your websites. It can also help you build self-confidence and self-esteem.
  3. “I choose to focus on the positive.” This affirmation can help you shift your perspective and focus on the good things in your life, rather than dwelling on negative thoughts or experiences. It can also help you cultivate a sense of gratitude and appreciation.
  4. “I am capable of overcoming challenges and achieving my goals.” This affirmation can help you build resilience and self-efficacy, and remind you that setbacks and challenges are opportunities for growth and learning. It can also help you stay motivated and focused on your goals.
  5. “I am surrounded by love and support.” This affirmation can help you feel connected to others and remind you that you’re not alone. It can also help you cultivate a sense of trust and openness to receiving help and support from others.

I hope these affirmations are helpful to you! Remember, affirmations are a powerful tool for cultivating a positive mindset and emotional state.

Forgiveness and Emotional Liberation

One of the most challenging things we can face is forgiving ourselves for mistakes we’ve made in the past.

ChatGPT can help you practice self-forgiveness by pretending to be someone else who is forgiving you.

Example script:

You: “Can you pretend to be my best friend and forgive me for something I did?”

ChatGPT: “Of course. What do you need me to forgive you for?”

You: “I said [something hurtful] to a friend, and I feel really guilty about it.”

ChatGPT: “I forgive you. Everyone makes mistakes, and I know you didn’t mean to hurt me. What’s important now is that you learn from this and try to be more mindful of your words in the future.”

Ask ChatGPT to Assume a Role and Then Say Something Meaningful or Special to You

Disclaimer: There may be a role below that triggers you if you have lost a parent or loved one. I thought I should let you know in case you want to skip the last example in this section.

ChatGPT can also assume a role and provide you with personalized messages of encouragement, inspiration, or motivation.

Here are some examples:

Role: Life coach

Example prompt: I’m feeling really stuck right now. Can you give me some guidance on how to move forward?”

ChatGPT: Of course. Remember that every setback is an opportunity to learn and grow. Take some time to reflect on what you’ve learned from this experience, and use that knowledge to propel yourself forward.

Role: Best friend

Example prompt: I’m feeling really down on myself today. Can you give me some words of encouragement?

ChatGPT: Of course. You are strong, capable, and resilient.

Role: Father

Example prompt: I know you aren’t around for my wedding, but I’d love to hear what you might say if you were here today.

ChatGPT: As your father, I am always with you in spirit, watching over you and cheering you on from the sidelines. I may not be physically present at your wedding, but I am here in your heart, celebrating this special day with you.

I am so proud of the person you have become and the life you have built for yourself.

You have grown into a kind, compassionate, and resilient individual, and I am honored to be your father.

As you embark on this new chapter of your life, I want you to remember that love is the foundation of everything. Love yourself, love your partner, and love those around you with all your heart.

Know that I love you deeply and always will, no matter where life takes you.

I may not be able to hug you or give you a high-five, but I am here, cheering you on every step of the way. Congratulations on your wedding, my dearest daughter.

I love you more than words could ever express.

Can AI Really Help Me With Serious Issues?

I would never suggest that you don’t see a licensed and credentialed human therapist.

Therapy is great.

However, I do think there is a place for AI as a supplement to human-to-human therapy, for certain non-serious challenges, and for non-emergency yet important-to-you times when you are not able to contact a human therapist.

As I mentioned in the intro to this article, AI is already used in therapy.

A 2019 study published in the Journal of Medical Internet Research says:

Research in embodied artificial intelligence (AI) has increasing clinical relevance for therapeutic applications in mental health services. With innovations ranging from ‘virtual psychotherapists’ to social robots in dementia care and autism disorder, to robots for sexual disorders, artificially intelligent virtual and robotic agents are increasingly taking on high-level therapeutic interventions that used to be offered exclusively by highly trained, skilled health professionals.

So, yes, AI really can help.

As long as it is well-trained and well-managed by professionals. There are ethical implications, dangerous detours, and a thorny tumbleweed of problematic legal issues.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Christopher Kokoski
Mind Cafe

Endlessly curious| proud word nerd| Don’t miss my next article — sign up to my Medium email list: https://bit.ly/3yy18Bc