Stop Feeling Guilty — You’re Not Lazy, You’re Not Unmotivated and There’s Nothing ‘Wrong’ With You

There’s a huge difference between the two.

Eve Arnold
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

Tripe and dog biscuits. That’s what my dogs eat every morning for breakfast. For us humans, the prospect of eating the same breakfast day in, day out would be boring. Frankly, we’d be appalled. We’d be totally unhappy. I know, I’m a human and I’ve probably changed what I have for breakfast 17 times this year. But my dogs? Every day at 7:30 am is they bound around the kitchen as if they are about to experience the best meal ever. There is genuine excitement. They huff, wag their tails and then precede to sit patiently as I spoon the same meal they had for breakfast yesterday, into the bowl for today.

My dogs are more consistent than I’ll ever be. They never get bored. We humans though, can’t bear the routine of life. We seek novelty at every turn, question life on a daily basis and are looking for something to buy at every turn. We conclude that we’re bored, unmotivated or lazy and that there must be something wrong with us.

Human Beings and Boredom

We’ve been told for the longest time that boredom is bad. Ask anyone and they’ll come out with the line “only boring people get bored” or “life is boring”. And I subscribed…

--

--