Life | Philosophy | Self Improvement

The Difference Between Honesty and the Truth

Telling it, like-it-is, is not truthful and certainly not like it is

Jeff Robbins
Mind Cafe
Published in
8 min readJun 6, 2023

--

jeff x DALLE © author assumes provenance and copyright

Long ago, in a strange, formal, wear-a-starched-shirt-and-tie-to-work land was a thing called The Office Party. It was a chance to mingle with the muckity-mucks, sometimes called upper management. Drinks, finger foods, and inappropriate comments were passed around and free flowing.

You wore your best.

I was ready to go in my blue pinstriped suit, pinkish tie, spit-polished shoes. But I was waiting for my girlfriend.

She walked out, looked at me, smiled, and asked, “How do I look?”

Here are the acceptable answers to this question (at least if you want to get to the party on time):

  1. You look beautiful.
  2. Honey, you are so much more than a dress but, yeah, you’re beautiful.
  3. (Smile) You look perfect.
  4. You’re red-carpet material.
  5. Smokin’ hot. Just standing next to you will probably get me that promotion.

What I said:

“That’s not my favorite dress.”

--

--

Jeff Robbins
Mind Cafe

Husband, Dad, Business Builder (9 and counting). Co-Founder BundleIQ. Love Brazilian JiuJitsu. Love the Work. Eat Smart, Sleep Smart, Think Smart.