The Life-Changing Power of a Daily Walking Habit

5 ways walking may be a perfect exercise for boosting creativity, health, and mood.

Lauren Johnson Gonzales
Mind Cafe

--

Rain or shine, in sickness and in health, I walk my dog. In cities and on trails, on pavement and on dirt, we walk. Every single day.

But even if I didn’t have a dog, I would be out there. Because I enjoy it. Walking clears my mind, brightens my mood, and energizes me.

A neighbour recently commented that maybe he should get a dog so he could walk more. He was joking, sort of. Obviously, having a dog encourages walking, but a dog isn’t necessary.

Walking is a worthwhile pursuit, all on its own. It can enhance creativity, mood, health, and longevity.

Plus, walking is simple and easy to do. It might truly be the perfect exercise. Below are a few of the many reasons to make walking a part of your life.

1. Simplicity

Walking, unlike other forms of exercise, is about as simple as you can get. Almost anyone can walk, almost anywhere. Walking doesn’t require special skills, fancy equipment, a team of other players, or an expensive gym membership.

All you need is a comfortable pair of shoes.

--

--

Lauren Johnson Gonzales
Mind Cafe

Aiming to live life as fully as my dog does: run often, be curious, be kind. Each day is full of tiny joys when you nose around for them.