The Only 3 Pieces of Advice I Have on My Wall

We are the average of the stories we tell ourselves.

Michael Thompson
Mind Cafe
Published in
5 min readJan 4, 2021

--

One of the first things that stood out when I moved to Barcelona 10 years ago is that many of the streets and monuments are named after artists. As someone who grew in the US surrounded by the names of kings of industry or politicians, I found this refreshing.

Whenever I leave my apartment, I’m reminded of the importance of making art. Over time, this message rubbed off as I slowly began to prioritize artistic goals over business ones and since then I’ve never felt more fulfilled.

There’s a lot of truth to the statement made famous by Jim Rohn that we’re the average of the five people we spend the most time with. As we get older, the same goes for being the average of the food we eat the most too. But I can’t help thinking that we’re most like the words and stories we consistently tell ourselves.

Seeing how well the constant reminder to make art snuck into my head, I began putting the pieces of advice that I most wanted to follow on my office wall with the hope they’ll infiltrate my thinking to the point where they too become my baseline.

The world is full of words of wisdom. Below are the 3 that currently grace this coveted spot.

“Shut up and go buy…

--

--

Michael Thompson
Mind Cafe

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT