The Pandemic Time-Warp Explained

A scientific explanation as to why your sense of time is distorted and how to correct it.

Onoceans
Mind Cafe

--

Illustration by the author

It’s a Friday afternoon, or so I thought. I sit in my living room, ordering Black Friday offers from a clothing brand. “Wasn’t Black Friday two weeks ago?” I think to myself as someone calls me. It is a supplier for my company. At the end of the call, I tell her to have a lovely weekend. “Weekend?” she chuckles. I make a noncommittal grunt. “It’s Monday today,” she replies.

Don’t look at your phone! What day is it?

The whole world seems to have a case of dyschronometria, — without the cerebral damage, of course. Dyschronometria is a condition that comes with distorted time perception. And frankly, our experience of time has been nothing but distorted lately. No wonder #Blursday enjoys steady popularity.

While the pandemic effects landed unequally geographically and depending on class and race, the perceived distortions in time seem strangely universal.

Living through a pandemic and its subsequent lockdowns, our days ooze into each other, the months lurch ahead. The activities we can do are limited in a limited space. Week after week feels the same and becomes a blur.

--

--

Onoceans
Mind Cafe

Solarpunk, ecological economist🪐 Rethinking culture, future, equality, science, climate 🌍 Big Picture& Brand Naming📧 For projects: ono@onoceans.com