Self | Self Improvement

The Real Reason High Performers Fail to Get Promoted

To achieve the true success you need to zone in on the things holding you back.

Sean Kernan
Mind Cafe
Published in
6 min readAug 4, 2021

--

Man smiling at a meeting.
Editorial rights purchased via iStock Photos

I hated the idea of coming in early, working late, constantly worrying, busting my tail for a year, all in hopes of maybe getting a promotion. It felt like such a gamble. Sometimes, it paid off. Other times, I left the office red-faced and full of fury.

Putting my own delusions of grandeur aside, I’ve seen incredible performers get burned at the altar. Here’s why.

An infertile environment

During one of my last corporate interviews, I went to the headquarters of the Home Shopping Network. This is what greeted me as I pulled up:

Source: via Author

I paused in the parking lot and marveled: it looked like a mirror of heaven. The clouds flowed through the perfect reflection, briefly trapped, before being released back into the sky.

Yet inside, HSN looked like an earthquake struck and everyone evacuated.

--

--

Sean Kernan
Mind Cafe

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.