Relaxation Guilt: The Dark Side of Grandeur Ambitions

The feeling of guilt when you rest

Marcus Chan
Mind Cafe

--

One of the biggest questions as a remote worker or a freelancer is:

At what time are we getting off work?

Don’t get me wrong, the life of being able to work from anywhere and at any time I want is phenomenal. It has given me a lot of freedom to skip unproductive things like getting stuck in traffic and allowed me to double down during my peak performing hours.

However, there is also a much less pretty side to it.

I wake up every Monday and Tuesday with a heck load of motivation, thinking that I’ll conquer the world.

By Wednesday, I’ll have done so many things that I feel kind of burnt out but don’t allow myself to rest because it’s a workday. Making a promise that I’ll take the weekend off.

“Get it together Thursday.”

Thank the Lords Friday came! Can’t wait to take the entire Saturday off and just recharge.

Nope.

Saturday mornings are usually started with some light writing, which I really enjoy but it always slips into a full day’s worth of work.

--

--

Marcus Chan
Mind Cafe

Writer by title, storyteller at heart. Writing about life, money, and work. Newsletter: https://marcuschan.substack.com/ Ebook: https://bit.ly/3PgV5HH