The Three Most Motivational Words You’ll Ever Read

How to find the right perspective.

Ayodeji Awosika
Mind Cafe

--

Want to know what I love about writing, both as a writer and a reader?

Writing gives you the unique opportunity to take a dispassionate look at your own life. If I’m reading about a subject, I can interpret the things I both agree with and disagree with in the book without having to take anything personally because the author doesn’t know me.

Likewise, as a writer, I can speak my version of the truth to the world, talk about specific traits people have, and give insights in a blunt way because I know I’m not directing my words at any single person. “If the shoe fits.”

Writing gives us the opportunity to be objective about what we’re reading, but that doesn’t always mean we take that opportunity. As a human being, you have a tendency to take things personally if you feel they apply to you. And that defensiveness keeps you from living the life you want.

Sometimes I’ll come across opinions I disagree with, opinions from people I don’t like, or opinions that I know will benefit me long-term but bruise my ego short-term. I try to fight the tendency to reject these opinions and accept the truth regardless of the source because I know one important truth about life.

--

--

Ayodeji Awosika
Mind Cafe

Learn how to become a top Medium writer and make a living writing here — https://bit.ly/freemediumcourse4u