The Top 0.1% Ideas in Life I’ve Found in the Last 9 Years

Including the Jeff Bezos sugar daddy rule

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
6 min readJul 8, 2023

--

Image credit-Midjourney

There are a lot of bad ideas in the world.

There’s also a war against ideas. Certain segments of society want some ideas banned or for them to go away like the flu.

I’m a daily collector of ideas. Here are the top 0.1% I’ve found.

The “fix it now” razor

When a big problem shows up it rents time in your head.

This causes extra cognitive load that makes us say “Nah, I’ll take care of this issue later.” Author James Clear pointed out why this is bad.

He says many problems are tiny if solved instantly, but if there is any delay in addressing them, then they snowball out of control.

So don’t delay. Fix it now.

Talent vs. Genius rule of thumb

Thinker David Perell reminded me society is great at creating talent, but terrible at producing genius.

Talented people are all about KPIs. They can smash through limitations. The problem is they can’t see targets that have never been invented.

They’re stuck in “box thinking.” Zero creativity.

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb