The Way of Expert Creation is Hidden in Plain Sight

It aligns best with how you live your life.

Jonas Ressem
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Laura Dewilde on Unsplash

Many people quit their childhood hobbies. Perhaps it’s because of a desire for something new, or the intense pressure of having an income. Either way, there’s a lot of activities that falter as people grow up. For me, it was music production.

Somewhere around 2011, I got into the hype of electronic dance music, and it inspired me to make my own songs. I wanted to become the next big DJ, create some “bangers” and have my music play at festivals. And so, I downloaded a music production software and started working.

It was fun. Playing around with different sounds and learning the landscape of music was rewarding. And it didn’t take long before I was hooked, devoting hour upon hour.

I continued to produce music for years. But somewhere around 2018, I started to lose my interest in it. It had been fading for some time now, spending less time on it, and it eventually reached a point where I decided to quit altogether.

At the time, writing had become a major part of my life. And I decided to go all in on that instead.

And I’m glad I did. It was a decision that changed something for me. Because not only did I get better at putting words to existence, but my…

--

--

Jonas Ressem
Mind Cafe

From Norway. Building onliving.life. Exploring life through psychology, philosophy and entrepreneurship. Come explore with me: http://eepurl.com/dAtfdv