This Is Why You’re in a Creative Slump (And What to Do About It)

How to get unstuck and back to work.

Itxy Lopez
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Erik Dungan on Unsplash

All creators go through creative slumps — periods when even though we want to work, we can’t.

I’ve been “blocked” for about two weeks now, and I couldn’t figure out why. Like everyone else, I blamed anything I could point a finger at, such as boredom, lack of breaks, and so on.

Everything except the real reason. In the end, I blamed laziness. I wasn’t putting in the same amount of work as usual and only writing when I felt like it. (As a creator, you know how bad that is.)

Here’s the thing about laziness: there’s always a deeper reason as to why you’re lazy.

Psychology Today wrote, “If we take a moment to examine what’s behind the procrastination and avoidance, we find a range of more complicated issues.” They list reasons such as the fear of failure, success, depression, and so on.

My own reason for laziness was a slap in the face.

The Real Reason Why You’re in a Creative Slump

I was avoiding work, but not because I was tired. I was dodging it because I didn’t want to face the truth: I don’t think I’m good enough.

--

--

Itxy Lopez
Mind Cafe

I’m a self-discovery writer: I write as I grow, make mistakes, and learn.