What I Learned About Dating by Using Tinder in Foreign Countries

Dating styles may vary from country-to-country, but endless swiping might not be the best way to find love.

Viva Amor
Mind Cafe

--

I’ve lived in five different countries throughout my lifetime: the USA, The Czech Republic, Germany, Thailand, and Italy. Each has their own unique way of life and way of dating.

I’ve used Tinder in three of the five countries. I’ll let you try to guess which ones.

Country #1: My Introduction to Tinder

I had never used Tinder before. I had heard about it for a while and even helped a friend develop a profile and swipe left and right. It was fun to see her matches and to look at the hot guys. So after a breakup, I decided to set up my own profile.

I used some modelling photos I had taken and, with a few taps and swipes, I was online. I went window shopping through the meat market. I found some really attractive men and matched with some. I was kind of overwhelmed by the response and the influx of messages — some were interesting, but most were lame.

Some told me about their lives, others used sexual innuendos that I immediately ignored. I had some good conversations with a lot of them, but most of it seemed to…

--

--