Your Life Could Be Upside Down Tomorrow

I lost it all in one day

Marcus Chan
Mind Cafe

--

Man falling after stepping on a banana skin
Image designed by the author.

One-month notice period

In mid-2021, I had the honour of joining a company that had exponential growth and multiplied in market value within a short few years. At that time, I thought it was a great opportunity for me to step into a fast-paced industry that’s receiving all the buzz from the media. I joined a crypto company.

Within the first few months, things were fine. Not great, but we were trucking along. Somewhere down those months, however, something went horribly wrong and the company’s revenue started dwindling down like a meteor. Within one or two months, the numbers dropped to a record low and everyone panicked. By late Q1 2022, the company announced a company-wide retrenchment.

I was laid off with a one-month notice period.

One-hour notice period

Perhaps it was the Gods who blessed me, because a few days later, I received an offer from another company. This came from a company much larger than the one I was at and the position was everything I wanted in a job — a great team, a supportive (and cool) manager, a growth-driven culture, and most importantly, I get to sit my ass down, do research on what I am most curious about (which happens to be finance and tech), and just…

--

--

Marcus Chan
Mind Cafe

Writer by title, storyteller at heart. Writing about life, money, and work. Newsletter: https://marcuschan.substack.com/ Ebook: https://bit.ly/3PgV5HH