What Intermittent Fasting Taught Me About Money

It definitely simplified things

Mary Liga
Mind Cafe

--

I’m a huge fan of intermittent fasting.

But the other day, as I was driving home from an appointment, something dawned on me.

It was around 1 pm, and I started to feel the first signs of being hungry. I thought, “This is good, I’ve fasted all morning and didn’t feel like snacking or anything. My body is using fat for fuel, and I’ll have lunch when I get home. I did it! It’s getting easier all the time.”

It wasn’t easy getting used to intermittent fasting as a daily practice, but I was diligent about it because I did a lot of research and I believed it was exactly what I needed.

You see, I have a family that is prone to diabetes, and I decided that was never going to be me.

The thing I love most about a fast is that I feel alert, clean from the inside, and like I’m succeeding at a personal challenge. Every day. It’s a contest I have with myself, and I can be pretty competitive, so each day feels like a little win.

I like to celebrate those.

As I got closer to home, my mind went to my finances, like it often does, and I was thinking about the new budget I made for the new year.

--

--

Mary Liga
Mind Cafe

Margarita-loving copywriter, life coach, home design junkie, and host of The Badass Midlife Podcast. maryjoliga@gmail.com