What It Means to Be Emotionally Secure

#5. You can take no for an answer.

Razane
Mind Cafe

--

Photo by Francesca Zama from Pexels

“You’re such an emotionally insecure person. You will continue to fail at life if every little thing throws you off balance.”

A loved one whose counsel I highly value once told me this when I was crying over something rather insignificant that had happened in my life at the time.

And it stung. A lot. It felt like a slap in the face. But it was the truth. A truth I had to hear.

Looking back, I appreciate their honesty.

They made me realize that I wasn’t emotionally balanced. This was a much-needed wake-up call for me to change for the better.

Five years later, with a lot of trial and error, I am much more emotionally secure, although I have learned that it will be a constant work in progress.

What does being emotionally secure mean?

Being emotionally secure means being confident, grateful, and self-aware.

Emotionally secure people are adept at controlling their emotions.

They do their utmost to stop even the most challenging events from impacting them too badly.

--

--

Razane
Mind Cafe

A 20-something global citizen and polyglot writing about Personal Development, Work, and Mental Health. https://razanecherk.carrd.co/