What Makes Somebody a Genuinely Good Friend?

8 characteristics of friends that are worth keeping.

Omar Itani
Mind Cafe

--

What makes someone a genuine friend?

That’s a question I’ve been pondering lately. As I reflected upon my personal experiences with friendships across the years, I realized that while I’ve had so many great ones, most of those bonds have fizzled with time.

Some friendships were stretched due to distance, others naturally phased out as we entered new stages in life. But despite the losses, a lot was gained. I realized that the most beautiful thing about friendships is that each one of them invites us to explore a new world within us we never knew existed.

Friends draw you over to their circle. They open your eyes to new ideas and ways of living. You internalize and interpret their world, as they do yours. As per the words of Anaï Nin:

“Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.”

Whether you realize it or not, all the friendships that you’ve formed over the years have taught you something. What makes true friendships special, however, is that they simply don’t age…

--

--

Omar Itani
Mind Cafe

Exploring the art of slow, simple, and intentional living. I post here every day: https://www.instagram.com/omaritaniwrites/ More at: https://www.omaritani.com